Home/About Us/Committees
Committees 2016-09-06T14:50:10+00:00

Administrative Committee: Dan Rothschild, Chair

The Temple President, Executive VP, Admin VP, Building Trustee, Human Resources Chair and Executive Director make up this committee that  is charged with tackling the many administrative issues that any organization faces on a regular basis.

Adult Education: Allan Morton, Chair

In collaboration with CBB’s Rabbis and the Religious School Director, this lay-leader volunteer committee is instrumental in the development and implementation of the Temple’s adult education programs.

Arts & Architecture: Shari Childs, Chair

A committee of professional designers, builders, and architects working with the building committee, as needed, to review architectural and design changes to CBB’s buildings that have a visual effect on the interior or exterior of the facility, such as but not limited to color changes, artwork, furnishings, structural changes.

Building: Mike Wolff, Chair

An impressive group of CBB volunteers with long-term expertise in building matters comprise this committee that evaluates larger building issues, and helps building implement projects.

Caring Community: Alan Levy, Chair

The Caring Community Committee, in conjunction with the Clergy, coordinates activities that celebrate births and other simchas, supports members when sick, and comforts those who lose loved ones. Support can be phone calls, cards, and visits as appropriate, meals for parents of a newborn or for those who are ill.  Caring visitors visit homebound members, and members support each other offering food after a funeral or gathering together to make a minyan for shiva.

Education: Jill Feldman, VP

Comprised of clergy, staff and lay leadership, this diverse group of individuals evaluate a broad range of education issues including religious school, adult education, youth and early childhood education.

Interfaith Family Outreach: Ann Pieramici, Chair

This committee organizes discussions, programs and events for the specific needs of interfaith couples, their children and other members of their extended families.

Landscape Committee: Ruelene Hochman, Chair

Avid gardeners plan and implement landscaping ideas to beautify CBB’s grounds.

Leadership and Governance: Rhonda Spiegel-Mosesman, Chair

The Committee’s role is to be an advisory resource, to study, recommend and help implement rules, systems, procedures and programs which will improve the function of the Temple. This committee acts as a resource to the senior management team, each of whom are regular members of the Committee, and to the Congregation generally, regarding the governance of CBB.  The committee reviews existing systems and makes recommendations concerning the continuous development, education and recruitment of future temple leaders.

Membership Committee: Rachel Wilson, VP

This group of dedicated members supports CBB’s ongoing commitment to recruit, welcome and integrate new members; as well as nurture life-long relationships with all of its members ensuring that each member has a strong sense of Jewish identity and sees the Temple as their Jewish home.

Music Committee: Maia Lowenschuss Palmer, Chair

Music loving members support CBB and the Cantor by helping to plan and implement CBB’s exciting and extensive musical programs. Committee members are  involved in concert planning, publicity, ticket sales, organizing post-concert receptions and more.

Religious School Committee: Karen Polinsky, Chair

This committee works on policies and support for the religious school.

Religious Practices Committee: Susan Rakov, Chair

In collaboration with the clergy team, this committee is charged with setting the overall direction of CBB’s religious and ritual practices.

Social Action Committee: Bob Ingrum, Chair

This committee reinforces the synagogue’s Tikkun Olam commitment by deciding what socially responsible projects to get involved with and organizing all of the events/activities for everyone to participate in. In addition, there are numerous long-standing projects that a member can participate in such as feeding the homeless and CBB’s annual Mitzvah Day.

Greening Committee:

This committee looks at how to make the Temple and our members more aware of environmental issues and conservation.

Financial Committee: Ruth Johnson, VP

This committee is responsible for overseeing the Temple finances.

Investment Committee: Steve Lyons, Chairs

This committee oversees the Temple’s investments including our endowment funds.